Getting Groovy (and Grails)

Explorations in Groovy and Grails Development

Welcome to “Getting Groovy”

with 4 comments

It’s been almost three years since I set up my main blog at pbell.com which has covered everything from software product lines and domain specific languages/modeling through domain driven design, agile/lean processes and tooling to language specific posts on ColdFusion, Javascript and Flex. In three years it has received over 1.7 million page views (which isn’t bad for a blog that started off focused on code generation techniques in CFML – not exactly a huge target audience) and it’s definitely where you should go if you want to know where I’m presenting/traveling, what I’m publishing and what I’m currently thinking about DSM, code gen, agile/lean, tooling and any languages except for Groovy and Grails.

However, I decided recently to get serious about learning Groovy and Grails. I still remember when  I first mentioned Groovy to a friend who teaches CS in the UK. He rather huffily pointed out that there were fundamental flaws in the original compiler and that if the team had taken his compiler class he’d have flunked them! Because of that I (unfortunately) didn’t take another look until last fall, but recently I’ve been getting increasingly interested in having more powerful metaprogramming capabilities (I’m down with the metaclass stuff, haven’t yet figured out the core use cases for the AST transformations in 1.6+ but I’m looking forwards to figuring it out) and ideally in leveraging all the great work that the Grails team are doing so I can focus on my product line (metadata re-use and configuration, automated generation of apps and docs from end user manageable specifications, etc.) rather than the details of writing a framework to implement the DSL statements and make them run on a given language.

Anyway, this blog will catalog my journey, and hopefully also be useful for anyone else looking to figure out how to build great Groovy an Grails applications using software engineering best practices. And with that, let’s get groovy 🙂

Written by peterbell

March 26, 2009 at 2:11 pm

Posted in Grails, Groovy

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. @Peter,

    I’m very interested in experimenting with Groovy, so I’ll be trying to keep up with your information sharing here.

    Do you know how I access a feed for this blog? I don’t see a link anywhere, but maybe I’m missing something really obvious.

    Thanks!
    Jamie

    Jamie Krug

    March 26, 2009 at 9:26 pm

  2. Interesting… after submitting my comment, I noticed an “RSS” link to follow *comments* — it just had “/feed/” on the end of the URL, so I tried that from your home page and that seemed to do the trick 🙂

    Jamie Krug

    March 26, 2009 at 9:28 pm

  3. Yup, you got it! I wasn’t sure at first either, but the feed is exactly that. Looking forwards to sharing notes on the journey!

    peterbell

    March 26, 2009 at 9:35 pm

  4. good luck with your journey. please do keep us posted. drop me a line if you want recommendations (books).

    Ray Tayek

    April 11, 2009 at 5:12 pm


Leave a Reply

